Of particular interest are the inscriptions built into the facade, which are unique regarding the founder-donors and the date of the church. Study of them led to the conclusion that the church was built in 1065 and was repaired later by Nikolaos Kalomalos. A band of ornamental brickwork, with relief decoration and motifs imitating old Arabic script runs round the north, west and south sides of the exterior. In 1910, when the new pavement was laid, graves were discovered below the floor of the church, indicating the existence of a cemetery in the area.
©Harry's Greece Travel Guides